Are Same-Sex Families Good for Children?

Are Same-Sex Families Good for Children?

Rate This
  • Comments 13

There've been a few studies recently claiming that gay couples actually make better parents than straight couples.

Being the inquisitive person that I am, and being familiar with how studies are done and how they can be skewed (I participated in a few during grad school), I wanted to know more. I studied the reports. I sought the counsel of Glenn Stanton, Research Fellow for Global Family Formation at Focus on the Family. I read the debates.

Turns out, the studies are flawed to such a degree that the findings are in fact invalid.

For the purposes of this blog entry, I'll just stick with a study by Charlotte J. Patterson entitled "Children of Lesbian and Gay Parents" which was published in 2006 by the Association for Psychological Science.

She begins her report by acknowledging that previous studies are flawed because the participants of those studies (the "sample") were not sufficiently representative of the general population, and therefore reliable conclusions about the general population couldn't be made.

The thing is, Patterson's studies are flawed because she doesn't sufficiently describe the study participants (or "sample") that she's selected. She compares same-sex "parents" with heterosexual parents (who are in "marriage-like relationships"), for example, but doesn't tell us what kind of heterosexual parents are included in her study. Are they biological parents who are in fact married? Are they cohabiting college students who just happened to have a child out of wedlock? Are they step-parents? She doesn't say, and that is significant.