Grad School Reflections

Grad School Reflections

Rate This
  • Comments 6

On Saturday I will graduate with my master's in Old Testament Biblical Studies from Denver Seminary. After three (plus) long years, I am finally done. I have moved for this degree, gotten poor for this degree, tried to learn the Greek verbal system for this degree, and cried for this degree. Was it worth it? I'm still deciding. There's a lot to ponder as I wrap up my graduate career. If you're thinking of going to grad school sometime in the future, here are some things I've learned along the way.

Be Confident About Your Degree

When I graduated from college, my dad thought I should go on for my master's right away. My undergraduate degree was in journalism, so I probably would have continued on to a master's in journalism the very next fall. I thought about it, but decided against it — choosing to go to the Focus Leadership Institute instead. It was a wise choice. While I was there, I did a magazine internship and then ended up getting a job as an assistant editor for a new college webzine. I eventually became the editor of that webzine, and when that job ended, my experience made it easy for me to get another job writing curriculum. During my years as a working professional, I definitely learned more about my writing style, but I also became fascinated with the Old Testament and learning more about the culture of the Bible. That is what eventually led me to Denver Seminary and my Old Testament degree. If I had gone to grad school immediately after college, I would have pursued a master's in something I wasn't fully interested in. Grad school is a lot of work, so it's worth it to feel passionate about what you're studying and why you're studying it.

Know Your School and Program