Life of Leisure

Life of Leisure

Rate This
  • Comments 67

Well, Boundless just got a bit more international, because I am writing this from Canada! I graduated from seminary a week and a half ago, and then my boyfriend and I drove the 20 hours to Red Deer, Alberta, where he lives. I'm up here for the summer so that we can experience some day-to-day living after dating long distance for the past few months.

My boyfriend teaches high school, and Canadians go to school until the end of June. That means that he's at work during the day, and I am not. I just spent the last three years doing an intense master's program and plenty of freelance to help support me through school. I often went to school during the day and did my writing work at night and on weekends. Earlier this year as I was studying for my comprehensive exams and writing my thesis, I remember wishing I could take one day off per week. Just one day with no work would have felt wonderful. (And, yes, I know I probably should have been taking a Sabbath no matter what. But I wasn't.) So, my past few years have been ridiculously busy.

Then I graduated. My life immediately went from too much to barely anything. I am in Canada right now, and I don't have a job. I have a bit of freelance work, but my deadlines feel light years away. (If you hear of any freelance, let me know. A girl's got to pay back her grad school loans.) I don't have many friends up here, and most of the people I do know work during the day. So far, I have no community or church obligations, and certainly no Greek homework. I'm not quite sure how to feel about it all.