How to Survive a Long-Distance Relationship

How to Survive a Long-Distance Relationship

Rate This
  • Comments 12

My first serious relationship turned into my first long-distance relationship. As you all know, it didn't end so well. But even though long-distance relationships have a reputation for not working, they can work if you know how to navigate it. 

Some of you reading this might be in the same situation I was in when I graduated. You met someone at college, and now you're both going back home for the summer. You might live in the same state or even across the country from each other, and you might be wondering how to jump successfully over this sudden hurdle.

My ex-boyfriend and I lived about four hours away from each other, and even though that wasn't much of a distance, I learned a few things about what it takes to keep long-distance relationships healthy.

1. Set expectations for communication.

When you are able to spend time with your significant other, you might not think too much about communication styles. Some people are satisfied with communicating primarily through text messages and social media. Others might rely more on phone conversations or Skype. 

It will greatly benefit your relationship if you set clear expectations for how and how often you will communicate. Some couples flourish on a few phone calls a week whereas others need to communicate more often. It is important to talk about this early in the relationship instead of when communication starts becoming a problem. If you don't share the same communication style, compromise. Once you know what your significant other expects, at least try. 

2.  Make time for date nights.