Your Turn: Tips for the Solo Traveler

Your Turn: Tips for the Solo Traveler

Rate This
  • Comments 13

by Laura-Beth King

I’m 27, single and I love to travel. God has blessed me with many incredible travel experiences over the years; however, until last fall, I had always gone with family or friends. To be honest, I actually said at one point, “I will never travel alone!” Well, since most of my friends are either nurses or teachers, and being a nurse myself, corresponding vacation times have proven challenging to say the least.

Last summer, the thought occurred to me, If I keep waiting for a travel buddy, I’ll never leave town! After much thought and prayer, I decided to take the leap and go on a grand adventure by myself. When I brought up the subject with my parents, their initial reaction was, “We don’t want you travelling alone.” However, when I shared my carefully thought-out plans with them, their reply soon became, “We wish we were going with you!” From Sept. 30 to Oct. 6, 2013, I traveled to Edinburgh and the Isle of Skye, Scotland by myself, and it was one of my favorite and most memorable trips. For anyone who is considering travelling solo, go for it! Here are some tips for a safe trip.

Make a Plan

As soon as I decided on Edinburgh and Skye, I looked into all the possible things to do, and based on the amount of time I was planning on spending at each location, I selected a few “must do’s” and a few “would like to do’s.” I chose hotels and B&Bs that were either close to the activities I wanted to do or had easy access to transportation. I booked my “must do” activities in advance, and I looked up bus schedules and opening/closing times of the “would like to do” activities. I kept my schedule flexible in case I decided to change my plans if something more exciting came up.

Make Arrangements