When I attended Nyack College, a Christian liberal arts college, we had opportunities on Friday to go into New York City to minister to people.  I did this for two years getting to see and experience some pretty amazing things in lower Manhattan in the Bowery and Chinatown areas.  However, my first experience was not a positive one.  I remember shadowing an upper classmen when I was a freshman.  He tried to share the Gospel with a couple of guys in Queens, and let’s just say no one was brought into the Kingdom on that day.  In fact, it pushed them away because the upper classman let them know that following Christ made him better than them.  Ouch!  To be honest, I wasn’t sure that I was cut out for this kind of evangelism.  I knew that I wasn’t better; I was just saved by His grace. 

Doesn’t following Jesus make us better people?  You would think so.  David Kinnaman, author and President of Barna Group, stated that in research for his book, Unchristian, they found that “84% of young non-Christians say they know a Christian personally, yet only 15% say the lifestyles of those believers are noticeably different in a good way.” 

Now, the intent of this post isn’t to criticize the church or believers.  The question I am raising is this: does knowing Jesus make me a better person?  Does following Jesus make me a better man?  To be honest, I am not a big fan of the “Real Men Love Jesus” phrase.  I think the saying falls into that category of, “I am better than you if you don’t love Jesus.”